A car accident can leave you with a myriad of injuries. If you or someone you love is left with injuries following a car wreck that is attributable to another person’s negligence, you may be curious to know how much you will take home in compensation. After all, you want to put the accident behind you as soon as possible and move on with your life.
However, every personal injury claim is unique. Thus, the value of your accident claim depends on a number of factors.
How damages are awarded in a personal injury claim
The value of your personal injury lawsuit boils down to the extent of the resulting economic and non-economic damages you have. Here are some of the questions that have to be considered:
How severe are your injuries?
Alongside the actual monetary cost of treating your direct injuries, the nature and severity of your injuries can also impact your case’s value. If you anticipate long-term care and non-economic challenges like pain and suffering and loss of enjoyment of life, these can be factored in when damages are awarded.
For instance, a spinal cord injury or a traumatic brain injury requires long-term care. If you sustain these injuries, then you may be awarded more compensation than if you only suffered fractures.
Did you contribute to the accident in any way?
A vital element in winning your personal injury claim involves establishing who was at fault. Nevada is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that your compensation amount will be reduced based on your degree of fault – so long as you aren’t 50% or more responsible. In other words, if you suffer $100,000 worth of losses but were 25% responsible for the wreck, you’d only receive $75,000.
Protecting your interests
Since personal injury cases are litigated on a case-by-case basis, there is no clear-cut rule to determine how much you will receive. Understanding how Nevada personal injury and car accident laws work, however, can help you build a strong case and receive the compensation you deserve.